An official website of the United States government

U.S. Mission Nigeria Announces Mandela Washington Fellows
Cross Section of the 2022 Mandela Washington Fellows

Cross Section of the 2022 Mandela Washington Fellows with some Public Affairs officers.

May 12, 2022

U.S. Mission Nigeria has selected 56 recipients for the Mandela Washington Fellowship (MWF) for 2022.  Additionally, U.S. Mission Nigeria has selected 16 alumni from the MWF cohort from 2021 to participate in this year’s Alumni Enrichment Institute.

Launched in 2014, the Mandela Washington Fellowship for Young African Leaders is the flagship exchange program of the U.S. government-sponsored Young African Leaders Initiative (YALI) created to further the United States’ commitment to investing in the future of Africa.  Each year, U.S. Missions across Sub-Saharan Africa select accomplished leaders, who have established records of promoting innovation and positive impact in their countries.

This summer, the Fellows will travel to the United States to participate in six-week Leadership Institutes studying Business, Civic Engagement, or Public Management at U.S. colleges and universities.  At the conclusion of the Leadership Institutes, the Fellows will attend the annual Mandela Washington Fellowship Summit, where Fellows, U.S. government officials, and representatives from businesses and organizations with interest in Africa engage in high-level sessions and workshops.

After completing the Leadership Institutes and Summit, Fellows are eligible to participate in several MWF alumni opportunities, such as the Alumni Enrichment Institute, that build the on skills and connections developed during their summer exchange program.

Since 2014, over 5,000 young leaders from every country in Sub-Saharan Africa have participated in the MWF with 456 Fellows hailing from Nigeria.  Thus far, Nigeria remains the largest contributor of Fellows each year.

Commenting on the significance of the MWF, Ambassador Leonard stated, “The United States is dedicated to investing in the next generation of young Nigerian leaders reinforcing the strong partnership between both nations.  The vision, courage, and drive to innovate of Mandela Washington Fellows will help shape the future of Nigeria for many generations to come.”

U.S. Mission Nigeria congratulates the following recipients of the Mandela Washington Fellowship and participants of the Alumni Enrichment Institute for 2022.

  First Name Last Name Track
1. Abidemi Ojo Leadership in Business
2. Abubakar Idris Leadership in Public Management
3. Ahmad Abdulsamad Leadership in Public Management
4. Aisha Yahaya Leadership in Civic Engagement
5. Akintunde Babatunde Leadership in Civic Engagement
6. Alexis Adelu Leadership in Civic Engagement
7. Alkali Jonah Leadership in Civic Engagement
8. Anointed Riches Leadership in Public Management
9. Assurance Chinemerem-Ayilara Leadership in Civic Engagement
10. Babajide Oluwase Leadership in Business
11. Blessing Bashir Leadership in Business
12. Chidiogo Odunukwe Leadership in Public Management
13. Chinemerem Jonathan Leadership in Business
14. Collins Obi Leadership in Public Management
15. Daniel Oladoja Leadership in Public Management
16. David Effiong Leadership in Civic Engagement
17. Dorcas Elisha Leadership in Civic Engagement
18. Ebere Okonkwo Leadership in Business
19. Esther Balami Leadership in Public Management
20. Etieno Udoh Leadership in Public Management
21. Freda Anyanwu Leadership in Business
22. Gabriel Bell-Gam Leadership in Public Management
23. Helen Okotie Leadership in Civic Engagement
24. Ifelola Olaleye Leadership in Business
25. Ikenna Ogbudimkpa Leadership in Civic Engagement
26. Immaculate Nwajagu Leadership in Business
27. Kedei Ibiang Leadership in Civic Engagement
28. Kurutsi Tabki Joshua Leadership in Public Management
29. Mayokun Iyaomolere Leadership in Civic Engagement
30. Mohammed Salman Leadership in Civic Engagement
31. Moshood Sanni Leadership in Business
32. Mukhtar Maigamo Garba Leadership in Public Management
33. Naima Usman Leadership in Public Management
34. Nnaemeka Nweje Leadership in Business
35. Olajumoke Adedeji Leadership in Business
36. Olaoluwa Balogun Leadership in Business
37. Olufunmilola Kehinde Leadership in Business
38. Oluwatosin Oke Leadership in Public Management
39. Oluwole Adegbule Leadership in Public Management
40. Onyekachi Kanu Leadership in Public Management
41. Oritoke Aluko Leadership in Public Management
. Osariemen Omoruyi Leadership in Civic Engagement
43. Pearl Utuk Leadership in Civic Engagement
44. Rafiu Lawal Leadership in Civic Engagement
45. Rahila Ibrahim Leadership in Public Management
46. Samuel Lawal Leadership in Business
47. Samuel Okerinde Leadership in Public Management
48. Sophia Lawal Leadership in Public Management
49. Stella Ajige Leadership in Business
50. Temitope Olatimehin Leadership in Business
51. Titilayo Falaiye Leadership in Business
52. Tracy Onabirekhanlen Leadership in Civic Engagement
53. Yetunde Adeseluka Leadership in Civic Engagement
54. Zainab Bala Leadership in Civic Engagement
55. Zigwai Tagwai Leadership in Civic Engagement
56. Zion Obeten Leadership in Civic Engagement
57. Abdullahi Abdul-Fatah Leadership in Civic Engagement
58. Abdulsalam Aderibigbe Leadership in Business
59. Amarachi Kalu Igwe Leadership in Civic Engagement
60. Amina Abubakar Leadership in Civic Engagement
61. Chekwube Iheanacho Leadership in Civic Engagement
62. Chima Amadi Leadership in Business
63. Chisom Nwankwo Leadership in Public Management
64. Courage Agbonlahor Leadership in Business
65. Enibokun Orobator Leadership in Public Management
66. Farida Habu Leadership in Business
67. Muhammad Umara Leadership in Civic Engagement
68. Nkechinyere Uguru Leadership in Civic Engagement
69. Ojooluwa Ibiloye Leadership in Public Management
70. Oluwatoyin Ajilore Leadership in Civic Engagement
71. Racheal Inegbedion Leadership in Civic Engagement
72. Saida Mansur Leadership in Public Management